I REVIEW: My Very First Birchbox

Birchbox January 2013

Let me start by saying this is a super delayed review of my January Birchbox because I have had a lot of other reviews lined up before this and I didn’t wanna mess that up.  But here it is now, a first-timer’s take on the whole Birchbox tra la la.

I had to wait for at least a month before I got invited to subscribe.  In spite of all the criticisms, complaints about Birchbox, it fascinates me that there are still thousands of girls/women out there lining up to snag these beauty boxes, including me of course.   For me, it is the thrill of receiving some random beauty goodies every month in my mailbox, second, Birchbox is like the most popular and I think the pioneer when it comes to beauty box subscriptions, and of course, its affordability.  For $10 a month, you get 4 to 5 random deluxe beauty samples tailored to your own beauty profile that you made when you signed up with them.  And speaking of which, I think that what Birchbox needs to improve is the beauty questionnaire section, it looks old and boring.  It certainly needs some oooomph!

Anyway, here are the things included in my first Birchbox, this is the January edition.  Also, it is worth mentioning that I haven’t tested the products yet and so reviews will be mainly for Birchbox and not of the particular items included.

1.  Embryolisse Lait-Creme Concentre 24-Hour Miracle Cream
Full Size Retail Value: $16 for 30ml
Sample Size I Got: $2.65 for 5ml

This cult French moisturizer heals dryness and leaves skin primed for foundation.  It can also be used as makeup remover, after-shave cream, and gentle for babies.  It’s okay to use for all skin types, so I think I will have to give this a try.

2.  theBalm cosmetics Put a Lid On It Eyelid Primer
Full Size Retail Value: $18 for 11.8ml
Sample Size I Got: $5.64 for 3.7ml

This stay-put primer keeps the eye shadow crease-free and also prevents smudges and smears.  Not sure i this is really an “important” beauty product or just one of them “extra baggage” but let’s see.  I will give it a shot and see if I like it or not.

3.  Juicy Couture Viva La Juicy
Full Size Retail Value: $70 for 50ml
Sample Size I Got: $2 for 1.5ml

This scent is more for the younger girls out there.  Not that I don’t like the smell, it smells sweet but I noticed it’s not as concentrated and didn’t stay long when I tried it on earlier.  And for the price of $70?  No I won’t buy it, I’d rather get me a much better perfume with longer lasting scent with that amount of money.  Right now, I am saying NO to this one already.

4.  amika Color pHerfection Shampoo
Full Size Retail Value: $22 for 14.37oz
Sample Size I Got: $1 for .68 fl. oz

This gentle shampoo contains fortifying omega acids and healing sea buckthorn berry oil to keep your hair color bright and shiny.  I think they really made effort to consider what was in my beauty profile and sent me a shampoo that is colored-hair friendly.

Also I mentioned in the profile I love perfumes, they sent me a perfume sample and I mentioned there I have oily skin, and they sent me something that’s okay for all skin types.  Plus points for those.

5.  Juice Beauty Daily Essentials to Go (Bonus Item)
Full Size Retail Value:  $29 for the whole set
Sample Size I Got: No Value

Included sachets are cleansing milk, antioxidant serum, and nutrient moisturizer.

Total Value of Sample Size Items:  $11.29
I paid $10 for this box, and well, that’s not much of a difference.  I’ll be more impressed if total value of my box will be more than $15 at least.

Final Verdict:  YES.  At least for now.  This is an ongoing subscription and this is just my first box so I will have to wait and see my second box and will give me an idea if I push through with Birchbox or not.  They also have a nice point system, wherein you get 10 points which is equivalent to $1 upon signing up with a paid subscription, and then 10 points each for every product you reviewed.  You can use your points to buy full sized items on their website.

To learn more about Birchbox, please click here.

Happy Monday everyone!

x,
D

One thought on “I REVIEW: My Very First Birchbox

Leave a Reply

