I COOK: (Leftover) Siomai Stir-fry.

Every late afternoon, a siomai vendor walks in my street and I swear, he has the best dumplings ever!  I’ve tasted a lot of siomai, and I am pretty sure this is the best I I have tasted (well so far).  I can finish 10 pieces in one seating.  That’s how beastie I am when it comes to siomai.

Which directs me to the food I cooked for dinner tonight.  Now, I feel really proud of this, because for the first time (for an amateur like me) I have cooked something that’s not from my food magazine, or recipe books.  I don’t have a particular name for it, for now, I am just gonna call it Siomai Stir-fry.  Sounds normal, eh?  I basically used some leftover siomai as additional ingredient in my simple recipe.  Make sure to have enough steamy rice handy, because this one’s really really good.

Here are the ingredients:

2 cloves garlic, chopped
½ yellow onion, diced
Siomai
1 1/2 tbsp butter
Long green beans
Carrots
Lucky Me Nam Nam fine seasoning

For the sauce:
2 tsp oyster sauce
1 tbsp fish sauce
2 tsp soy sauce
1 tsp sugar
2 tbsp water

INSTRUCTIONS:

Combine the ingredients for the sauce and mix well. 

Then heat the butter in a wok over moderate heat and cook the garlic and onions. Turn the heat on high and toss in the leftover siomai. Give a quick stir, mix in long green beans and carrots, Lucky Me Nam Nam seasoning. Stir some more then add in the sauce.

Serve warm with steamed rice. Quick and easy!  Happy eating.

3 thoughts on “I COOK: (Leftover) Siomai Stir-fry.

Leave a Reply

